Keep calm and kiwi on!*

Have you ever met anyone who said the kiwi was their favourite fruit? No, thought not. The kiwi is the jobbing extra of the fruit world, never destined to play a lead role. It would rather camouflage itself and hang around in the fruit bowl for a few days before fulfilling its ultimate destiny of packing out a fruit salad.

After watching The Truth About Sleep (see my last post) I was, however, willing to offer the kiwi a spot centre stage. The good doctor had suggested that eating two kiwi fruit before bedtime could help promote good sleep. I’m sure there’s a scientific reason behind this – some special chemical or vitamin or something that only the kiwi contains. My brain doesn’t retain information like that. Just the bit that says “could help you sleep better”. So, I thought I’d give it a go.

Kiwi 1

What will I do with this now I’ve cut it and taken a pretty photo?

I have to come clean though. I really couldn’t face eating two kiwis at once. I just couldn’t do it. It’s not that I don’t like the taste. I can tolerate it, but it hardly gets my taste buds doing the tango. So I just ate one a night for a week and figured that even if it didn’t help me sleep it was one of my five a day and my vitamin levels would appreciate the boost.

And the result? Well, rather like the kiwi fruit itself, the results of this little experiment are a bit underwhelming. I should say that my sleep over the last few weeks has been relatively ok – in that I’ve been getting about 6 hours a night. That’s about as good as it gets for me. I certainly didn’t sleep any worse for eating more kiwi fruit in one week than I usually would in a year. But neither am I persuaded to herald the humble kiwi as the answer to every insomniac’s prayers. Maybe I’ll give this one another go during a bad patch to see if it really does make a difference. But I still don’t think I’ll be able to do the double. It’s one kiwi at a time for me.

Has the kiwi fruit test worked for you? Or perhaps you swear by a different food to help you sleep? I’d love to read your comments below.

Thanks for reading.

*So sorry. I just couldn’t help myself.

Leave a Reply

