In praise of SleepPhones

SleepPhones are a great investment for any insomniac. Mine have been a constant bedtime companion since I invested in them a few months ago, so much so that forgetting to pack them when I go away for the night now sends me into a small panic. How will I ever get back to sleep if I can’t reach for them in the night?

As I wrote in my last post, I’ve recently discovered a whole world of podcasts just waiting to fill my sleepless void. But being a side-sleeper I faced a challenge – lie on my back and wake up with dodgy back (if I ever get to sleep that is), or lie on my side and deal with uncomfortable earphones digging into my ears. SleepPhones are the perfect solution!

I bought them rather nervously hoping that I wasn’t about to waste forty quid on yet another miracle cure that’s supposed to help me drift off. Ok, they aren’t completely flat; I can still feel something when I lie down and they leave me with rather comical looking hair first thing, but they work! In fact they’re comfortable enough not to bother me once I’ve fallen back to sleep and I often wake up in the morning with them still in place.

Me with my SleepPhones induced comical hair

Prepare for SleepPhones hair

I’ve got the standard SleepPhones – with the ‘breeze’ band. The fleecy band screamed nightsweats to me, but if you don’t suffer from the tropical internal heating system that plagues me I’m sure the fleecy ones are a perfectly cosy option. I’m tempted to upgrade to the wireless version sometime soon as they look even comfier and then I’ll be a proper 21st century insomniac (Santa! Wake up! Did you get that?).

You can view the full range of SleepPhones products here. I’ve not been paid to tell you how great they are (I wish!) and can’t guarantee that you’ll like them as much as I do, but if your insomnia is getting you down, it’s certainly worth giving them a go.

Are you a SleepPhones lover or hater? I’d love to read your comments below.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment